Interview with Zoe Coppola

We had a fun hour with Zoe Coppola on November 11.  She is the author of the Happy Harps Method books.

Download the chat here ZoeCoppolaZoomMelodys

Currently the Happy Harps Method books are on special using the coupon code happyh – 15% off. Good until midnight November 30, 2021.

The books can be found HERE. Ms. Coppola’s website is https://www.zoecoppola.com/

 

Posted in Zoom Meetings | Tagged , | Comments Off on Interview with Zoe Coppola

Publishing with Darhon Rees-Rohrbacher

If you want direction, focus, structure, and inspiration to get moving on your next arrangement or publication, this Zoom meeting is for you. Darhon will present a checklist to keep you organized and on track. Your music will be consistent from the standpoint of both proofreader and player.   

A native of Cleveland, Ohio, Darhon Rees-Rohrbacher holds a Doctor of Music degree from Indiana University. Initially trained as a classical vocalist and pianist, she began her harp studies after moving to Upstate New York where she followed a
multi-faceted career path as harper, arranger, singer, teacher, and piano accompanist. Her musical skills have taken her from the most formal, orchestral concerts to chamber performances wearing historical costume. She is a well-known harp composer whose arrangements are sold internationally. Darhon is also a retired nurse (RN & MSN) who pursued her interest in healing arts as a college nursing instructor.

Event: Wednesday, October 13 at 5pm

Posted in Zoom Meetings | Tagged , | Comments Off on Publishing with Darhon Rees-Rohrbacher

Join our Zoom meeting with Kathleen Bride

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting. This meeting is free and open to all harp teachers, no matter if you have 1 student or 45!

4 pm Central | 3 pm Mtn | 2 pm Pacific 

5 pm Eastern | 11 am Hawaii | 10 pm London | 10 am New Zealand (next day)

Posted in Zoom Meetings | Tagged | Comments Off on Join our Zoom meeting with Kathleen Bride

Join our Zoom meeting with educator Stephanie Curcio

Meeting Date and Time: Tuesday, August 10 (2021) 4 PM Central

Please email maryradspinner @ gmail.com and ask for the Zoom details.

4 pm Central
3 pm Mountain (please verify)
2 pm Pacific
5 pm Eastern
11 am Hawaii (please verify)
10 pm London
9 am New Zealand (next day)

Topics covered will include:

1. Is the ability to teach a natural outgrowth of being able to play?
2. How important is position at the harp and the technique of playing?
3. How do you teach note reading?
4. How do you teach rhythm concepts- especially dotted rhythms?
5. Tips for ensemble playing
6. How to overcome performance jitters

Stephanie Curcio has a long, well-established reputation in the world of harp. Born, bred and trained in New York City, she attended the High School of Music & Art (currently the Lincoln Center School For The Arts) where she was introduced to the harp. Within months she began lessons with Lucille Lawrence and later coached with Carlos Salzedo both privately and at the Camden Harp Colony. After having obtained multiple degrees in music (harp and piano) and in psychology (human learning), she went on to build a long, illustrious career as a solo, ensemble, and orchestral harpist, a teacher, arranger, and composer. In 1969 she and her family moved to New Hampshire. She taught as adjunct faculty for many years at the University of New Hampshire, Phillips Exeter and Phillips Andover Academies, and privately. Her students have attended the finest conservatories such as Juilliard, Curtis, New England Conservatory, Berklee, and more, won major competitions, and currently perform and teach across the United States. Her arrangements and compositions are recognized and performed Internationally. Stephanie Curcio’s Website: https://stephaniecurciopublications.com/

Posted in Zoom Meetings | Tagged | Comments Off on Join our Zoom meeting with educator Stephanie Curcio

Join our Zoom Meeting with educator Anna Dunwoodie

Tuesday, June 1 (2021)  at 4pm Chicago/Houston time. Topics covered will be: what books do you use at the beginning stage, intermediate stage | how do you teach rhythm, especially dotted quarter notes? | How do you teach sight reading? | How do you change or correct a hand position that is not relaxed and not conducive to warm tone? | Is there a difference between teaching children and adults and what do you do differently between them?
Anna is a highly trained and skilled educator in New Zealand, and a prolific arranger and composer of solo and ensemble material for the harp. https://www.annadunwoodie.co.nz/
4pm Central
5pm Eastern
2pm Pacific
10pm London
9am New Zealand
Tuesday, June 1 (2021)  at 4pm Chicago/Houston time. Topics covered will be: what books do you use at the beginning stage, intermediate stage | how do you teach rhythm, especially dotted quarter notes? | How do you teach sight reading? | How do you change or correct a hand position that is not relaxed and not conducive to warm tone? | Is there a difference between teaching children and adults and what do you do differently between them?
Anna is a highly trained and skilled educator in New Zealand, and a prolific arranger and composer of solo and ensemble material for the harp. https://www.annadunwoodie.co.nz/
4pm Central
5pm Eastern
2pm Pacific
10pm London
9am New Zealand
Posted in Zoom Meetings | Tagged | Leave a comment